Celine’s gone veggie 🍆🍑🥒

…Shock I know? 

Don’t worry I haven’t gone full veggie (I love duck/steak every kind of meat too much) I recently watched ‘what the health’ on Netflix. If any of you have watched this you will know that it’s pretty hard hitting. 

Before you say it, I know it’s slightly biased and it’s making a point, however, some things they say are extremely truthful. We are consuming too much meat and we can not sustain this. We are not fully aware of the chemicals that go into our livestock, therefore ultimately in us. 

I wanted to trial being a pescatarian and exclude everything dairy for 5 days. So I’m going too. I also wanted to experiment more with my food, not making meat the centre of every dish. 

If I’m successful in doing so I will most likely cut my meat consumption down too twice a week. 

To kick start my meat free week I made falafels for my lunches. 

Recipe; 

🔆Sauté an onion, add can of chickepeas, lemon zest, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp mixed herbs, 2 garlic cloves and a egg. 

🔆Mix up in a mixer, place on a baking tray in balls and place in the fridge to harden. 

🔆After 2 hours, cook in the oven for 30 mins at 200 degrees.  

I paired this with; 

🍆Grilled courgettes and aubergines in covered in mustard seeds 

🥒Steamed broccoli 

🌰Fried red onion and peppers 

🍚Marinated tofu in soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic, lemon juice. After 2 hours of marinated I fried in 1tsp of coconut oil. 

🍨Boiled a quinoa and bulgar wheat mix in vegetable stock. Toasted 3 tbsp in the red onion mix. 

A perfect selection of fantastic proteins, fats,carbohydrates and glorious vegetables! 

I’ll post as many recipes as I can, go on give it a go, trial meat free for a day! 

Leave a Reply

